Dr Moulds appointed Chair of the Independent Schools Queensland (ISQ) Board of Directors.

Dr Phillip Moulds OAM, Headmaster at The Rockhampton Grammar School, has been appointed Chair of the Independent Schools Queensland (ISQ) Board of Directors.

Dr Moulds succeeds Karen Spiller OAM CF, who announced her retirement as Chair earlier this year coinciding with her retirement as Principal of Brisbane’s John Paul College. Mrs Spiller will remain on the ISQ Board as a Director until the end of her tenure in June 2023.

Dr Moulds has served on the ISQ Board for the past five years, four of those as Chair of the Education Subcommittee. He said he was enthusiastic about the opportunities within the independent education sector, while paying tribute to Mrs Spiller.

“I would like to thank and congratulate Karen for her tremendous work, not only within ISQ but the Queensland education sector as a whole,” Dr Moulds said. “She leaves a tremendous legacy and I look forward to building upon the momentum she has established for independent schools in Queensland.  

“Enrolments within the sector are at an all-time high, indicating parents continue to value the choice and diversity that independent schools provide.

“It’s an exciting time for the independent sector and I look forward to seeing what we can achieve in the coming years.”    

Independent Schools Queensland Chief Executive Officer Chris Mountford welcomed Dr Moulds’ appointment and thanked Mrs Spiller for her contribution to the independent school sector.

“I look forward to working in close partnership with Dr Moulds and the other members of the ISQ Board of Directors to continue to represent the interests of independent schools across Queensland. Having been a part of ISQ’s governance structure for a number of years, Dr Moulds is well known to our members and stakeholders," Mr Mountford said.

Dr Moulds has been the Headmaster at The Rockhampton Grammar School for the past 13 years. Prior to his appointment as Headmaster, he held a variety of positions at Brisbane Grammar School during an 18-year tenure, including Deputy Headmaster.